Twitter Media Thread Archive

This post right here is an archive of every tweet in my media thread from January to April. April is around the time where I deactivated my Twitter account.

If you see any text in italics, that's Present Floof chiming in with their thoughts on what Past Floof had to say.


1. Chrono Trigger (SNES Version)

This didn't occur to me at the time, but there ARE plenty of JRPGs that do that- they're just usually modern ones. Xenoblade is a notable example


2. Sonic Advance

I don't have much to say about this one other than "it was neat". I was gonna play it again with every character but the Cosmic Angel zone boss is really annoying so I didn't

I'm playing the second one rn and it's pretty much better in every way


3. Sonic Advance 2

As I said in the previous tweet, better than the first one in pretty much every way

The whole soundtrack is bangers and they added some fun new moves that make the game more interesting. Very cool game c:
It gets bonus points bc Cream is adorable

Sonic Advance 3 isn't on this list bc it's lame /hj


4. Valkyrie no Densetsu (PS1 Version)

A very janky and old game, but still fun
Old Namco games and cute fantasy are both things that appeal to me so I can't say that I dislike it, but idk if I would recommend it to anybody

I was told the PC Engine version is better 🤔

I still haven't played the PC Engine version lol


5. Tropical-Rouge! Pretty Cure

At the time I wrote that, Tropical Rouge had literally just ended and I was still riding the high of how fucking incredible the finale was. There are very few shows that embody pure fun like Pretty Cure. I love the characters so much and I love seeing them interacting and being friends and saving the world!! It's not for everyone, it's definitely not some masterpiece on the same level as K-ON or FMAB, and if you're not already invested in the Pretty Cure franchise the initial arc each season of introducing each character one by one is a bit boring, but once the show settles in to its usual monster of the week format, it's a lot of fun to watch c:

Fun fact: The first Pretty Cure season started airing 18 years ago, and they've made a new season each year ever since. This shit has been running nonstop since 2004. I will be watching Pretty Cure until the day I die :) /j


6. Gunstar Heroes

This game slaps and you should play it


7. Contra (Famicom Version, with an EN fan translation)

I 1CC'd this
It was hell

(Fun fact! The Famicom version of Contra has some animated sprites and short cutscenes that were removed from the NES version.)


8. Super C (NES Version)

Pretty cool game
I 2CC'd it bc I don't have the patience to go for the 1CC after the ordeal that was the first game


9. Strider (Arcade version)

Pretty cool game
It has cool setpieces, cool music, and you *feel* cool while playing it

I would try to 1CC this one as well but the final level contains level design that I can only describe as genuinely evil /hj

It was REALLY bad


10. Encanto


11. GOAThead

Definitely one of the best rooty tooty jump n' shooties out there

I'm probably biased bc I've been mainly playing older games recently but Cuphead feels very fair and well-designed in a way that not a lot of other run n' guns are?

Like, everything in Cuphead is so well telegraphed, and even when it isn't, it's at least reactable enough where you don't need lightning-quick reflexes in order to dodge it, and the game manages this without ever feeling too easy either. They really put a lot of effort into designing fun boss battles and it shows. The controls feel great as well, and I appreciate the variety that the shmup bosses provide


12. Castlevania: Dawn of Sorrow (replay)

My least favorite of the three DSVanias but it's still a cool game

I'm mostly just bitter about being forced to grind for weapon upgrades and story progression. Portrait and Ecclesia have way cooler gimmicks

Also, hot take: these games already have a really bad "the best weapons are all locked behind RNG!!!" problem, and the souls Aria and Dawn make it a lot worse

Wow, I was pretty harsh on this one. I don't want anyone to get the wrong idea, Dawn isn't a bad game at all! It's just the weakest entry in a trilogy of incredible games.

Regarding the "souls", those are a mechanic in Aria of Sorrow and Dawn of Sorrow. Whenever you kill in an enemy in those games, there's a random chance that the enemy will drop its soul, which will allow you to use that enemy's attack against other enemies (or give you a passive buff, it depends on the soul). I've always felt like it's a really cool mechanic in theory, but in practice, I very much dislike how it forces you to grind. I WANT to use all of these cool abilities, but it's unfortunately completely random which ones you get. And yes, like I said above, you HAVE to grind for specific souls in both Sorrow games if you want to progress the story past a certain point. It sucks


13. The Cuphead Show! (Season 1)

The other seasons of the show weren't out yet at the time


14. Vampire Survivors

This game is $3 and I feel like I robbed the developers by only paying that much
It's very fun and very replayable

(Fun fact: I forgot to add this to the media thread until I saw that a certain funny shark lady is playing it right now)

I should really go back to this one... it was really fun and I've heard that they've added a lot of new stuff to it in the last few months


15. Contra 4

"They sure blew up good" is the rawest line in video game history

...what do you mean there's a challenge mode

Funny story about that challenge mode: I gave up after like an hour bc it was too hard :P


16. Contra: Hard Corps (with HP patch)

Incredibly cool game, idk why ppl say that Contra 3 is the best one when this exists

although I did play this with a patch that gives you 3 hit points like in the JP version and frankly I don't want to know what it's like without it


17. Turning Red

Really good movie, I liked it a lot


18. Kase-san and...

Gay people

A very sweet and heartwarming manga about two girls falling for each other. I wholeheartedly recommend it


19. Plants vs. Zombies (PC Version, GOTY Edition)

Wanna see me put a song in your head?
"I know your type: tall, dark, and dead..."


20. JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 3: Stardust Crusaders


21. Sonic the Hedgehog 2

Sonic