Youtuber Recommendation: Dansparce

The Floofer Zone #14 | January 28th, 2024


I’ve been feeling more motivated than usual to write for this blog, which as it turns out is both a good thing and a bad thing… good because I can maybe try to make new posts on a somewhat consistent basis now, but bad because I have more than one idea for a new post, and it’ll take me a while to write them all

I don’t wanna let January end without a new post on the blog, though, so why don’t we try something new? This is a post where I recommend a lesser-known youtuber for y'all to watch. It’s both an excuse for me to write something shorter than my usual fare, and an opportunity to support someone who’s videos I genuinely enjoy watching, if only a little bit

Image description: A screenshot of Dansparce's youtube bio. It says: Hello, I'm Dan! I am an anxiety-ridden, nonbinary content creator with a love of video games

Dansparce is a gay, nonbinary youtuber/streamer who plays Animal Crossing. If that description alone doesn’t sell u on them then idk what to tell u tbh

Judging by the dates on some of their youtube uploads, it seems like they’ve been doing let’s plays and streams for many many years, but I only found out about them recently through their An Entire Year In Animal Crossing series. It’s exactly what it sounds like: they’re going to play Animal Crossing for the GameCube everyday, uploading a new video of the playthrough everyday, for the entirety of 2024

I’ve been slowly catching up to the latest episode over the last couple days, and I’ve been really enjoying them! Many of the more popular let’s players tend to act loud and exaggerate their reactions for the camera (and that’s not necessarily a knock against them, I’m a Markiplier fan lol), but Dansparce’s vids have a very comfy and chill vibe that I find relaxing. The videos are still funny, too; the gameplay is occasionally interrupted by silly reaction clips from movies or TV programs whenever something notable happens in the playthrough. I honestly thought Dansparce’s editing style was a little annoying at first, but it definitely grew on me as I kept watching. There’s a limit to how many times u can hear a news reporter yell “PEACHES STICKY FINGERS??” in the most bewildered voice you’ve ever heard before u acknowledge how inherently funny it is

Of course, it helps that Animal Crossing itself is a funny, comfy, and chill game to watch as well as play. I’m not super familiar with the original Animal Crossing, having only played New Horizons for like, a week, so learning more about the game through this let’s play has been pretty cool

Image description: A screenshot of the game Animal Crossing. A human character is holding up a fish they caught and saying: I caught a carp! Ouch! I hurt my wrist! It might be CARPal-tunnel!

If I have to read another one of these stupid puns I’m gonna have a CARP attack

That’s all I have for u today, folx. Stay tuned for more from this blog in the future!